About Us

Our Mission
SpeakEasy produces intimate, entertaining plays and musicals that are new to Boston and compel thoughtful conversation. We champion new talent and future arts leaders, alongside a diverse community of experienced local theatre professionals who share our devotion to excellence. We treat our artists, audiences and supporters as collaborators, working with us to make Boston a city that is sustainable for artists.

Our Values
Heart, Loyalty, Excellence, Courage, Respect, and Joy

SpeakEasy Stage Company has distinguished itself as Boston’s premiere theater, consistently winning acclaim for presenting top-quality productions of vital, cutting-edge plays and musicals. SpeakEasy’s artistic success has garnered us numerous awards, including five Elliot Norton Awards in 2010. We also received the 2008 StageSource Theatre Hero Award for our dedication to nurturing and supporting Boston area theatre artists and for our leadership and inspiration to the theatre community of Greater Boston. SpeakEasy was named the Pavilion Resident Theater for the Boston Center for the Arts in 2007 and produces 28 weeks of new plays and musicals each season at the Nancy and Ed Roberts Studio Theater.



  • Artistic & Administrative

    • Paul F. Daigneault, Producing Artistic Director
    • Jennie Morris, Administrative  Associate
    • Floris Liu, 16-17 Artistic Fellow

  • Development

    • Cathi Ianno, Director of Development
    • Alex Lonati, Development Operations and Special Events Manager

  • Marketing

    • Jim Torres, Director of Marketing & Communications
    • Evan Turissini, Creative Services Associate

  • Production

    • Paul Melone, General & Production Manager
    • Dawn Saglio, Company Manager
    • Dominique Burford, Associate Production Manager

Calendar of Events

June  2017
  • Bridges
    2:00 pm - 4:35 pm
  • Audience Discussion
    4:35 pm - 5:20 pm
    Moderated by SpeakEasy staff.
  • Bridges
    7:30 pm - 10:05 pm
  • Audience Discussion
    10:05 pm - 10:50 pm
    Moderated by SpeakEasy staff.


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body of SpeakEasy Stage, holding us in trust for the public. Through advocacy, financial contributions, and active committee participation, our Board:

  • Sets overall policy
  • Champions SpeakEasy in the community
  • Approves our annual budget
  • Exercises oversight of general operations

Board of Overseers

The Board of Overseers is a diverse volunteer group comprised of artists and arts leaders, community activists, business professionals, and entrepreneurs. SpeakEasy’s Board of Overseers expand support, community, and leadership for the company through the following initiatives:

  • Expanding SpeakEasy’s community by opening doors for strategic partnerships and new fans.
  • Supporting the growth of SpeakEasy through financial support & volunteer activities.
  • Socializing and celebrating SpeakEasy at shows and events.

  • Board of Directors
    • Alex Baker, Chair
    • Pat Cogan
    • Paul Daigneault, President
    • Susan Darnell
    • Richard Davies
    • Kerry A. Dowling
    • Mark Haddad
    • Mark Hickey
    • Will Korman
    • Melissa Langa
    • Erik Ramanathan
    • Nancy Roberts
    • Steve Root
    • Jim Stiles
    • Ann Teixeira
    • Barney Weinstein
    • Clea Winneg

  • Board of Overseers

    • Michael Appell
    • Robert Band
    • Gene Bauer & Ellen Shortell
    • Rose Ann Berwald
    • Jon & Dixie Lee Borus
    • Gregory Bulger & Richard Dix
    • A. Joseph Castellana & Jim Seligman
    • Bob Chabot & Glen Doerr
    • Stacey & Chris Constas
    • Anne d’Avenas
    • Emily Gainor
    • Laura Haas
    • Ken Hirschkind
    • William Kelly
    • Alexandra MacAaron
    • Keith MacDonald & Thomas Webber
    • Jeffrey Mello
    • Roberta Orlandino
    • Jackie & Robert Pascucci
    • Ellen Piccioli
    • Ed Roberts
    • Brian R. Robinson & Jay LeClaire
    • Miguel Rodriguez & Barry Hume
    • Steve Rosenblum
    • Julie Urda
    • Michael Wartofsky & Imtiyaz Hussein
    • Sandra Weinstein
    • Hannah Weisman
    • Neal Winneg

Triple A

AAA is a diverse volunteer group comprised of SpeakEasy’s audience, artists, and advocates who are committed to supporting SpeakEasy’s mission and expanding our community.

AAA’s Role

  • Attend or Create – SpeakEasy’s premieres of new plays and musicals are possible only through the appreciation of our patrons and the work of our artists and technicians who make the magic happen! Triple A members attend or work on a minimum of three shows each season and at least one special event such as the fall concert or spring benefit gala.
  • Support & Advocate – Triple A members donate their time, energy, skills, and/or gifts in support of our continued growth. Members may volunteer on mailings, events, and coordination of special projects. They may volunteer to help with our production or special events, such as our fall concert or our annual benefit gala. Most Triple A members make a donation to SpeakEasy within their capacity.
  • Share – Our community grows by word of mouth. Triple A members share about their SpeakEasy experiences through Facebook, twitter, word of mouth, and by inviting friends, family, and colleagues to attend SpeakEasy shows or events throughout the season.
  • Serve – Triple A members are invited to lend their expertise and experience in the theatre by speaking or performing at our Subscriber Open House, fundraisers, and other donor events.
  • Celebrate – The SpeakEasy Triple A are invited to attend our Pre-Gala Kickoff in the winter and our Season End Celebration in the spring. Triple A members who subscribe to SpeakEasy are also invited to our Subscriber Open House in the fall. These events are designed for Triple A members to have a deeper theater experience at SpeakEasy and to welcome friends, family, and colleagues to the SpeakEasy community in an intimate setting. We encourage all members to attend as their schedule permits.

2015-2016 AAA Members

  • Jeff Adelberg
  • Jason Allen-Forrest & Scott Forrest-Allen
  • Lisa Baker
  • Amy Barker
  • Marianna Bassham
  • Suzanne Bixby
  • Amelia Broome
  • Gail Astrid Buckley
  • Sarah deLima
  • Shana Dirik
  • McCaela Donovan
  • Scott Edmiston & Thom Kauffman
  • Chuck French
  • Serena Gibson
  • Anne Gottlieb
  • Martha Heller
  • SallyCade Holmes
  • Dan Jentzen
  • Angie Jepson
  • Michael Kaplan
  • Maureen Keiller
  • Lilliane Klein
  • Julie Arvedon Knowlton
  • Eric Levenson
  • Michael Levesque
  • Amanda Ostrow
  • Gus Pena & Kerry Weiss-Pena
  • Karen Perlow & Dale Place
  • Paula Plum
  • Lois Anne Proctor
  • Dick Rousseau
  • Chip Schoonmaker
  • Kami Rushell Smith
  • Kay Sorensen
  • Larry Sousa
  • Amy Spalletta
  • Kathy St. George
  • Alix Strasnick
  • Val Sullivan
  • Cristina Todesco
  • Bob & Nancy Tucker
  • Dorothy L. Winer

Contact Us

If you have any questions, comments, or thoughts about programs and productions, please feel free to contact us. We’d love to hear from you! Please use the form below, or contact our administrative offices by phone (617-482-3279), fax (617-482-3280), or email (info@speakeasystage.com).

If you wish to order tickets to any of our shows, please contact the Boston Theatre Scene box office by phone (617-933-8600), on their website (www.bostontheatrescene.com), or by email (boxoffice@bostontheatrescene.com).

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message